top of page
  • Writer's pictureMakena Linet

How to Dress your Ankara Kimono

My story begins when I knew a kimono was a just Japanese clothing thanks to watching Kung Fu movies. I am type of girl who can watch a particular genre of movies depending with seasons. There is a time I will be deep into Indian movies (I won’t mind watching the songs and dances), Nigerian Movies with their too much 'oga' and mama in them or the epic ones with swords and adventure. Right now am into sci-Fi ones (don’t ask me why). Back to my story, the next time I met the word kimono it was from an Instagram model whom I follow and then BOOM it became a thing.



Did you know that Kimono is a Japanese traditional clothing? Yes, it is. The current trend of Kimonos was inspired by traditional Japanese robes. And adding beauty to it, Ankara Kimonos was born.



An Ankara kimono is a must have piece in your wardrobe. They are very versatile, super stylish and worn mainly for casual events. A kitenge kimono matches with any outfit underneath, may it be a long or short dress, pants, shorts, palazzo pants, pencil jeans or skirt.

Another thing about kimonos is that they look good on any kind of the body—chubby, slim or moderate. They give you that flattering look and adds a colorful fashion statement.




If you do not have one, buy one and add it to your wardrobe collection. This is how I styled my kitenge Kimono with a black dress at a friend’s wedding.




I hope the question on how to wear your Ankara Kimono is well answered.


Ckenna’s Wardrobe tips

  • A colorful Ankara Kimono goes well with a black outfit.

  • A short Ankara Kimono goes well with pants or shorts.

  • A long Ankara Kimono goes well with a short dress or skirt.

  • A sleeveless Ankara kimono goes well with a long sleeved top or short.


PS they are sometimes called Jacket Ankara Kimono.



Photography- Manasseh.


Love, Happiness and Light.

Ckenna.

66 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page