top of page
  • Writer's pictureMakena Linet

Going to Coast on a Budget



I always wanted to have time away after my undergraduate studies. Something that I call ‘mecation’. A quiet time, a time to think and recharge, a time to give thanks, a time to explore and a time for adventure. I had planned for this trip for the longest time ever—researching for the breath-taking places and the best time to go. Fortunately or unfortunately I went during easter since it was the only time available in my schedule.

My journey started on Thursday evening by bus from Karatina to Mombasa. I preferred using 2NK since it was the one of the available bus companies in Nyeri county.






Day 1

I arrived in Mtwapa Friday morning. Nothing much was done during this day apart from resting and catching up with old friends.



Day 2

I travelled to south coast- destination- Ali Baba and the forty thieves. Unfortunately it was closed but the good news is it didn’t stop me from enjoying myself.



Day 3

This day was set to visit north coast but the plan was not executed. As a solo traveler you need to know unavoidable circumstances can happen that you cannot take control.



Therefore, a plan B was put in place. I decided to visit the areas around Mtwapa that I have never been before. The Moorings restaurant (the floating restaurant) and Jumba la Mtwana was the perfect choice.




Sadly, my trip ended on Easter Sunday. It was a rush season and so I could not get a Monday bus back to Nairobi. Another thing is that I did not complete the places in my list due to the fact that my four day vacation was cut down to three.


What you need to know

  1. I preferred night travel by bus since it was the only means available. The SGR tickets were all sold out.

  2. Means of transport at the coast is cheap when you are using matatus and where tuktuk is the only means available.

  3. Having a friend or relative hosting you is quite cheap especially if you are on a budget.

  4. If you plan to go with your friends have a plan B in case they dropout.

My budget

  • Transport to and from Nairobi- 3000

  • Transport around coast for the three days- 700

  • Food- 2000

  • Miscellaneous- 1000


Happiness and Light,

Ckenna.

77 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page