top of page
  • Writer's pictureMakena Linet

The Ultimate Kilgoris experience


My Journey to Kilgoris was just what I needed after a dark cloud hovered over my head for the last few months. I was not okay I mean I was okay—get the difference.



Even though I was in the grey area, Romans 8:28 constantly remained me... “And we know that all things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are thee called according to His purpose.” And maybe one day I will come back here with the testimony Denied but not delayed.



Here is my Ultimate Kilgoris Experience

The journey to Kilgoris is not for the fainthearted. It is a pretty long journey, a more than 8-hour drive with various site seeing on the road. If you catch a ride early from Nairobi you will arrive early but for me, it is not the case. The first time I traveled to Kilgoris I arrived late and the car broke done at Mai Mahiu resulted in arriving before midnight. The second time the car broke in Kinoo and this time arriving a bit late in Kilgoris town. So lesson 1, catch a matatu early enough.



Lesson 2. Kilgoris citizens are friendly people. During my stay, the people I interacted with were friendly, or is it our nature as Kenyans. I will not forget the kindness of the driver who dropped us at our hotel and even ushered us to the reception. (Side note: we later realized it was the wrong hotel after he had left). The second driver who took us to the right hotel and not forgetting the receptionist at Springs Hotel who directed us to the Seasons Hotel. (Side Note: Taxis are not available at night in Kilgoris). The drivers who picked us and dropped us every morning for the workshops. Plus, the hospitality of the KCE community was awesome.

My stay at Seasons Farmers Hotel was excellent and I got the best experience. You can read about it here.



Lesson 3. Go hiking in the hills of Enosaeen and thank me later.



Although we were rained on, it was worth it. I have never breathed so hard to try to run away from the rain.




It was my first time to hike after a long time, I was planning to do this next year -2021- the bets time is God’s time. My main goal is to hike Mt. Kenya and Mt. Kilimanjaro.



Lesson 4. The A-team makes the dream work. Thank you to the team that made it possible—Susan, Vinney, Beatrice, and Marlene. It was the A-team.


Before I end writing this piece, I would want to thank Kakenya Center of Excellence school (KCE) and Kakenya Center of Excellence Mentors for giving me a chance to visit Enosaaen, Kilgoris twice. KCE mentor is a group of young ladies with the mission to mentor young girls in the Maasai community. As the program is winding up am happy to say that I had the best volunteering experience so far.

What you need to Know

  1. It costs Ksh1500 to Kilgoris and 300 to Enosaaen.

  2. Stay at Seasons or Springs Hotel at Kilgoris. They have affordable rates.

  3. Go hiking to the famous Empurkel Waterfall.


Happiness and Light,

Ckenna.

Ps. Have you followed the KCE community… Follow them here and here.




91 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page